EDM Future is Bright: Dance Music Award Winners

By  | 

four members of Temper Trap
Best Alternative Rockers: Temper Trap

We’ve only now just recovered from the Winter Music Conference. Although less attended than past conferences—a reflection of the Ultra Music Fest being moved to this week—the stripped down version of WMC actually allowed a more intimate gauntlet of sessions, a relic of what WMC was in the days when the conference served as a soapbox for dance music insiders to discuss the business of making and promoting music, before WMC week morphed into a consumer-friendly destination for fist-pumping clubbers.

The International Dance Music Awards were announced at the close of Winter Music Conference, and plenty of new faces on the ballots indicate that EDM is in robust shape.

Best Underground Dance Track

Winner: Barbra Streisand – Duck Sauce – Fool’s Gold/Downtown
Brrrat! – Steve Aoki & Armand Van Helden – Dim Mak Records
I Can Change – LCD Soundsystem – DFA
I Feel Better – Hot Chip – Astralwerks
No Worries – Butch – Cecille
Paradise Circus – Massive Attack – Virgin
Scary Monsters & Nice Sprites – Skrillex – Big Beat/Mau5trap

Best Alternative/Rock Dance Track

Winner: Sweet Disposition – The Temper Trap – Glassnote
Animal – Neon Trees – Crain Records/Mercury
Dog Days Are Over (Yeasayer Remix) – Florence + The Machine – Universal Republic
Giving up the Gun – Vampire Weekend – XL Recordings
The Catalyst (Remix) – Linkin Park – Warner Brothers
VCR (Four Tet Remix) – The XX – Young Turks/XL Recordings

Best Commercial Dance Track

Winner: Gettin’ Over You – David Guetta & Chris Willis Feat. Fergie & LMFAO – Astralwerks

Dancing On My Own – Robyn – Konichiwa/Cherrytree/Interscope
Hello – Martin Solveig & Dragonette – Big Beat/Atlantic
Not Giving Up On Love – Armin van Buuren Feat. Sophie Ellis-Bextor – Ultra/Armada
Pyromania – Cascada – Robbins Entertainment
Seek Bromance – Tim Berg – Napith/Sirup/DIY
Stereo Love – Edward Maya & Vika Jigulina – Ultra Records

Best Dubstep/DnB/Jungle Track

Winner: Raise Your Weapon – Deadmau5 – Ultra Records/Mau5trap

Gold Dust – Dj Fresh – Data/Breakbeat Kaos
Hold On – Rusko – Mad Decent/Downtown
Innocence – Nero – MTA Records
On My Own – Blame Feat Ruff Sqwad – New State Music
Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites – Skrillex – Big Beat/Mau5trap

Best Producer

Winner: David Guetta

Armin van Buuren
Dr. Luke
Swedish House Mafia

Best Remixer

Winner: Afrojack
Bimbo Jones
Chew Fu
Dave Aude
Michael Woods

Best Mixer

Winner: Pioneer – DJM-2000

Allen & Heath – 4D
Pioneer – DJM-800
Rane – Sixty-Eight

Best CD Player

Winner: Pioneer – CDJ-2000

Denon – DNS 3700
Pioneer – CDJ-1000 MK3
Technics – SL-DZ 1200

Best Studio Software

Winner: Apple – Logic Pro 9

Ableton – Live 8
Steinberg – Cubase 5
Image-Line – FL Studio 9
Avid – Pro Tools 9

Best DJ Software

Winner: Traktor – Scratch Pro

Ableton – Live 8
Pioneer – Rekordbox
Serato – Scratch Live
VirtualDJ Pro 7

For full list of winners, check here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *