DJ Times & Ghost of Robert Moog, in Bed–again

By  | 

Matthew Dear

What do Tangerine Dream, STS9, Ghostland Observatory, Suicide and Matthew Dear have in common?

They are part of the lineup for Moogfest 2011, perhaps the quirkiest and most devotional annual electronic music festival on the EDM docket. Celebrating the spirit of Bob Moog, inventor of the Moog synthesizer, Moogfest will once again be helped along by DJ Times, which will be a media sponsor.

Taking place Oct. 28 – 30, in Asheville, NC, Moogfest seeks to build on the success of last year’s reinvention of the Moogfest concept in the city that Bob Moog called home.

This year’s Moogfest lineup highlights a remarkable synergy of classic electronic music pioneers, contemporary groundbreaking artists, and young upstarts who are further pushing musical boundaries. ‘70s innovators, including Tangerine Dream, Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Suicide, will present rare US performances as they join a lineup that includes the Flaming Lips, Passion Pit, STS9, Ghostland Observatory, Crystal Castles, Chromeo, Battles, Umphrey’s McGee, Mayer Hawthorne & The County, M83, Holy F**k, Matthew Dear, Twin Shadow, Toro y Moi, The Naked And Famous, Tim Hecker, Anika, Austra, Causing A Tiger, and Gold Panda, with many others still to be announced.


The festival will also host workshops, talks, interactive experiences and art exhibitions and installations.


“Last year’s reinvented Moogfest – the first to take place in Asheville – was an amazing experience – and the response from artists and fans alike was extraordinary,” says AC Entertainment founder, Ashley Capps. “We’re very excited and inspired to build upon that success for the 2011 festival.”

Weekend passes for Moogfest 2011 will go on sale on Saturday, June 4, at 12 Noon Eastern exclusively at

Moogfest 2011 Confirmed Artists:

Flaming Lips

Passion Pit

Tangerine Dream


Ghostland Observatory

Suicide (performing their legendary first album)

Crystal Castles



Umphrey’s McGee


Mayer Hawthorne & The County

Adrian Belew Power Trio

Hans-Joachim Roedelius

Holy F**k

Matthew Dear

Toro Y Moi

Twin Shadow

Oneohtrix Point Never

The Naked And Famous

Tim Hecker

Brandt Bauer Frick


Gold Panda


Little Dragon


Causing A Tiger

Ford & Lopatin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *